Which Country has Won the most Copa America Titles?

Copa America 2019The 46th edition of South America’s international competition, The Copa America, gets underway in just under 2 months and we take a look at the national teams who have had most success at the tournament. We take a look at who won the last edition.

Chile are the two time defending champions heading into the tournament after winning the most recent competition, hosted by the United States in 2016 and the 2015 edition.

With 15 titles Uruguay is the most successful Copa América team. Argentina has 14 titles and Brazil, eight. The other former champions are Paraguay, Peru and Chile, with two titles each, and Bolivia, and Colombia, who have each won one.

Equador and Venezula are the two CONMEBOL teams who are still looking for success at the tournament. This years edition sees, the two Asian sides, Japan and Qatar take place, neither team have ever won the Copa America.

Since 1993, the tournament has generally featured 12 teams – all 10 CONMEBOL teams and two additional teams from other confederations, generally teams from North & Central America and the Caribbean. But non of these sides have ever won. Mexico who have participated in every tournament since 1993, have finished as runner-ups twice – these two finishes are the highest for a non-CONMEBOL side.

We take a closer look at the sides who have won previously.

The Argentinians first appeared at the competition in the inaugural year, 1916 and have made a total of
41 appearances. They have been very successful in the Copa América, winning it 14 times, being second only to Uruguay in Copa América victories. The last victory in the competition was in 1993. They have been runners up in the last four out of five competitions.

Best result: Champions in 1921, 1925, 1927, 1929, 1937, 1941, 1945, 1946, 1947, 1955, 1957, 1959, 1991 and 1993.

Bolivia have made 26 appearances since they first took part in the Copa America in 2926. La Verde have lifted the Copa America trophy just once, back in 1963. The win came on home soil, in one of the competition’s most memorable tournaments, with 91 goals scored for an average of just over four per game.

In 1997, when Bolivia hosted the competition for a second time they were runners up in the competition. Sadly every year since this they have only made it past group 1 on one occasion. This was in 2015, in Chile when they made it to the quarter finals.

In general they don’t do very well on the international stage.

Unlike Brazil who do exceptionally well on the world stage. Despite consistently producing world class players such as Pele, and winning the World Cup more often than any other side they are third in the list of most successful teams when it comes to the Copa America. They been champions 8 times, the last success came in 2007. They have won on every edition when they have been hosts. They were champions in 1919, 1922, 1949, 1989, 1997, 1999, 2004 and 2007. They have appeared in the in the inaugural competition in 1916 and have played a total of 35 times.

Chile have played in 38 Copa America tournaments but have only won twice. They are however the two time defending champions having won the 2016 and 2015 editions.

In the 2015 Copa América, La Roja reached the final for the first time in 29 years when they defeated Argentina on penalties (4–1) after a 0–0 draw, to win their first Copa America title.

In January 2016, just six months after winning the 2015 Copa America, a new manager, the Argentinean Juan Antonio Pizzi, led them to a second victory after again beating Argentina in the final.

The 2001 Copa América was the first Copa América held in Colombia and Comombia went on to win the competition. Being held on Columbian soil there were some concerns over potential security issues, teams dropping out and new ones being hastily recruited to replace the teams Comubia may have had an easy ride in the competition. Between 2002 and 2010 Columbia didn;t do too well on the international stage but in the 2011 made a good run topping their group and achieving a draw to the host nation Argentina, who were the favourites. But they were eliminated in the quarter finals. In 2016 they won the third-place match against the United States to seal their best result since winning the 2001 tournament.

Have made 27 appearances, the first in 1939 at the Copa America. There best results were in 1959 and 1993 when they finished in fourth place. They are one of two countries in South America not to have won the Copa América, the other being Venezuela.

The Albirroja are a regular participant at the competition, and they have been crowned champions on two occasions (in 1953 and 1979). They reached the final in 2011 but finished as runners-up. In 2015 they reached the semi-finals but didn’t make it past the group stage in 2016.

Peru has won the Copa América twice, in 1939 and 1975 despite making 29 appearances at the competition. In recent years they have earned third place in 2011 and 2015. They reached the quarterfinals of the Copa América Centenario.

La Celeste (The Sky Blue) have won the Copa América 15 times, the most successful national team in the tournament, the most recent title being the 2011 edition. At recent tournaments in 2015 and 2016 they missed banned striker Luis Suárez, and were eliminated in the quarter-finals and group stages respectively.

La Vinotinto have appeared at 16 Copa America, their best performance came in 2011 under Rafael Dudamel era where they finished fourth. They are yet to be crowned champions or make it past the quarter finals.

Recent Copa America Winners

YearWinning Team