UEFA Champions League

UEFA organise this prestigious competition for the top clubs in Europe. The Champions League is the contested by the Champions of the national league and, for some nations, one or more runners-up. Founded in 1955, it has since gone on to ranks ninth among professional sports leagues in the world by revenue. As well as the prestige of winning the title the winning team also secures a place in the competition next year, the UEFA Super Cup and the FIFA Club World Cup.

The league begins in late June with four knockout qualifying rounds and a play-off round. The 6 surviving teams enter the group stage, joining 26 teams qualified in advance. The 32 teams are drawn into eight groups of four teams and play each other in a double round-robin system. The eight group winners and eight runners-up proceed to the knockout phase that culminates with the final match in late May or early June.

Who Has Won the Champions League?

22 clubs have won the title, 12 of these teams have won it more than once. The most successful team is Real Madrid, who have won the title 13 times. They won it five times on the bounce back in the 1950’s when the tournament was founded. They also won the tournament in consecutive years in 2016, 2017 and 2018. Real Madrid won the title in 2018 after beating Liverpool 3-1 in the 2018 final.

When it comes to Spanish clubs they have done the best in the competition and have the highest number of victories (18 wins). England have also done well, with English clubs winning the title 13 times. Italy have 12 wins.

England has the largest number of winning teams, with five clubs having won the title. England are set to have another winning team at the end of the 2018/2019 season as it’s Tottenham vs Liverpool in an all England final.

Watching the Champions League Online

A huge television audience is attracted to watch the tournement, not just Europena Football fans but lovers of football around the World. The final has been the most watched annual sporting event in the world. In 2012-13 approximately 360 million people tuned in.

Due to broadcasting rights, you need to have a subscription to watch the Champions League matches on TV or online. BT Sport currently have the rights to air the matches in the UK.

Who qualifies for Europe?

32 teams take part in the group stage – made up of:

  • 24 of those teams directly qualify
  • Champions League defending champion
  • Winner of the previous season Europa League
  • 4 teams from the champions path
  • 2 teams from the league path.

Each county can have four teams and on certain occasions up to five teams competing, but it is quite complicated when you first look at the 104 page document containing the guidelines issued by UEFA.

The defending Champions League Champions qualify for the next season competition regardless of their domestic league placing.

The winners of the previous season’s UEFA Europa League qualify for the UEFA Champions League, entering at least the play-off round, and entering the group stage if the berth reserved for the Champions League title holders is not used.

The champions league and league path places are determined during the preliminary rounds, qualifying rounds and the play-offs.

When it comes to English Sides – the top four teams in the Premier League qualify for the Champions League, while the FA Cup winners, the Carabao Cup winners and the fifth-placed side in the top flight go into the Europa League. If the winners of the two cups finish in the top four, their places go to the teams sixth and seventh in the league.

Format of the Champions League

Like many tournaments there is a qualifying phase and a League phase. The phases are indicated below.

Qualifying phase, divided into:

    Champions path, composed of:
    – preliminary round;
    – first qualifying round;
    – second qualifying round;
    – third qualifying round;
    League path, composed of
    – second qualifying round;
    – third qualifying round;

Play-offs (champions path and league path)

UEFA Champions League, composed of:

  • Group stage (six matchdays) – 32 clubs involved in the group stage are seeded into four groups of eight. The first group comprises the titleholder (top seed), the UEFA Europa League titleholder and the domestic champions of the six associations ranked highest in the access list (see Annex A). If either or both titleholders are the domestic champions of one of the top six associations, the group is completed with the champion(s) of the next highest ranked association(s). The other three groups are composed in accordance with the club coefficient rankings established at the beginning of the season.
  • Round of 16 – the group winners are seeded above the runners-up.
  • Quarter-finals;
  • Semi-finals;
  • Final.
  • Which is the Best Bookie to Bet on The Champions League With?

    Any of the bookies with one of the best football apps as indicated on our homepage are fantastic to place bets on this prestigious competition. They all have superb sites, apps as well as a wide range of pre-match and in-play markets with competitive odds. A plethora of promotional offers are available and some superb betting tools and features to make having a punt even more exciting.

    However if you struggle to pick just one, we highly recommend bet365, who have a great range of offers for European matches and are leaders in creating the best tools and features. They also have a great new account offer.

    Related Posts