The English FA Premier League

Premier LeagueThe Premier League features 20 teams who compete each season to be crowned champions of England. It is the country’s primary football competition. 47 English and two Welsh clubs have played in the elite league since its inception, making it a cross-border league.

The Premier League is a corporation in which the member clubs act as shareholders. It is one of the most popular football leagues in the world.

Watching the Premier League
Football is one of the most watched sports in the world, the Premier League being one of the football league’s most watched around the world. It is broadcast to 212 territories, with a potential TV audience of 4.7 billions people. The league generates €2.2 billion per year in domestic and international television rights. It’s big business. Sky and BT compete each year for the rights to show the matches. Sadly the BBC and ITV don’t get to show Premier league games. Online streams are available if you want to watch online. Generally if you are located in the these streams are limited due to broadcasting rights. Only 3pm games are broadcasted live. If you want to watch a 12.30 or 5pm kick off in the UK you will need to head to the stadium.

Many fans still go to stadiums to watch the matches live most stadium occupancies are near capacity. In the 2014–15 season, the average Premier League match attendance exceeded 36,000, second highest of any professional football league behind the Bundesliga’s 43,500.

Title Winners
Forty-nine clubs have competed since the inception of the Premier League in 1992. Six of them have won the title since then: Manchester United (13), Chelsea (5), Arsenal (3), Manchester City (4), Blackburn Rovers (1), and Leicester City (1). The record of most points in a Premier League season is 100, set by Manchester City in 2017–18.

Over the years the league has been dominated by a few teams.

In the mid-2000s the so-called “Top Four” clubs: Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool and Manchester United dominated the league. These four teams dominated the top four spots, which came with UEFA Champions League qualification, taking all top-four places in 5 out of 6 seasons from 2003–04 to 2008–09 inclusive. In every season during the 2000s the “Big Four” always qualified for European competition.

The years following 2009 marked a shift in the structure of the “Top Four” with Tottenham Hotspur and Manchester City both breaking into the top four places on a regular basis, turning the “Top Four” into the “Big Six”.

Off the pitch, the “Big Six” wield financial power and influence. The 2016–17 Deloitte Football Money League report showed the financial disparity between the “Big Six” and the rest of the division. meaning that they can buy more and pay players more money. Making them bigger and better than the other premier league sides. A substantial part of the clubs’ revenue by then came from television broadcast deals, with the biggest clubs each taking from around £150 million to nearly £200 million in the 2016–17 season from such deals. In Deloitte’s 2019 report, all of the “Big Six” were in the top ten of the world’s richest clubs

Premier League seasons run from August to May. Each team plays each other twice, playing 38 matches each. There are a whopping 380 premier league matches in total. Most games are played on Saturdays and Sundays, with games also played on certain weekday evenings.

Relegation and Promotion
The competition adopts a promotion and relegation system with the Football League which comes into place at the end of each season.

Each season the three teams at the bottom of the league are relegated to the Championship and the three teams from the Championship are promoted to play in the Premier League.

The top two teams in the Championship are automatically promoted along with the team that wins the play offs for third through sixth place.

Since the inaugural season in 1992–93, 47 teams have competed in the this elite league. The 22 inaugural members of the new Premier League were Arsenal, Aston Villa, Blackburn Rovers, Chelsea, Coventry City, Crystal Palace, Everton, Ipswich Town, Leeds United, Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United, Middlesbrough, Norwich City, Nottingham Forest, Oldham Athletic, Queens Park Rangers, Sheffield United, Sheffield Wednesday, Southampton, Tottenham Hotspur, and Wimbledon.

Nottingham Forest were the first team relegated from the Premier League in the 1992–93 season, losing 0–2 at home to Sheffield United on 1 May 1993.[27] They were joined by Middlesbrough and Crystal Palace, with the latter club relegated on goal difference. Newcastle United and West Ham United were both automatically promoted from the First Division while Swindon Town triumphed in the playoffs.

Blackburn Rovers have been the only Premier League champions to be relegated from the league, in 1998–99 and 2011–12.

History of the Premier League
In 1988 England’s first football league was established. This first ever English football league featured 12 teams and quickly expanded. Four years later a second division was added, a third was added in 1920 and a fourth in 2921. The two lower leagues divisions became regional leagues, the third divisions North and South. In 1950, they became the national third and fourth divisions. The four-division set up was maintained until 1992. There were 22 top-flight teams.

In 1992 the 22 top-flight teams broke away from the Football League and made an Elite division: The FA Premier League. The old second, third and fourth divisions initially became the first, second and third divisions. They are now known as the Championship, League One and League Two.

At the end of the 1994–95 season, the league was reduced from 22 teams to 20.

Betting on the Premier League
Football betting is immensely popular. The premier league has a huge fan base, there are 380 matches a season for fans to watch, follow and bet on. The bookies are well aware of this and ensure that they have a huge selection of betting markets available for all matches. They realise that there are a number of places for fans to place their bets so want to make themselves attractive as possible. To make themselves enticing for premier league bets they try to have the best offers, markets and betting features available. If you struggle to decide who is the best bookie for your premier league bets we can highly recommend bet365.