FA Cup

EFL ChampionshipThe Football association organise a number of competitions, including the FA Cup, the oldest national football competition in the World. It is an annual knockout football competition played by the men’s domestic English football teams since the 1871–72 season. It is organised by The Football Association.

Which Teams Participate in the FA Cup?

Any English team in level 10 of the English football pyramid can participate. A record 763 clubs competed in 2011–12 season.

92 professional clubs in the Premier League (Level 1) and the English Football League (Levels 2 to 4), and several hundred “non-league” teams in Steps 1 to 6 of the National League System

When Does the FA Cup Begin and When is the Final?
The FA Cup kicks of in August each year, with the clubs in level 9 & 10 of the pyramid, at each round up until the fourth round another level of clubs from the pyramid is added. After the fourth level no more clubs are added and the teams play in a knockout tournament all the way through to the FA Cup Final held in May each year.

FA Cup Format

In August when the competition kicks off, a six rounds, called qualifying rounds take place. Entrants from levels 9 and 10 begin the competition in the Extra Preliminary Round. Clubs from higher levels are then added in later rounds, as per the table below. The draws organised on a regional basis and fixtures ending in a tie are replayed once only.

In November, the competition ‘proper’ takes place, when League Two, League One, Championship and Premier League sides are added in the first and third rounds. All clubs are in one draw. There are six rounds.

The final is normally held the Saturday after the Premier League season finishes in May, although on occasions it has been held prior to the premier league.

Round New entrants at this round Month No. of matches
Qualifying Competition
Extra-Preliminary Round Level 9 and 10 clubs August 184
Preliminary Round Level 8 clubs 160
First Round Level 7 clubs September 116
Second Round Level 6 clubs 80
Third Round none October 40
Fourth Round Level 5 clubs 32
Competition Proper
First Round Level 3 and 4 clubs November 40
Second Round none December 20
Third Round Level 1 and 2 clubs January 32
Fourth Round none 16
Fifth Round February 8
Quarter-finals March 4
Semi-Finals April 2
Final May 1

Does Seeding Take Place?
No there is no seeding, the fixtures in each round being determined by a random draw.

FA Cup Winners

The winner of the final qualifies for the following season’s UEFA Europa League and the FA Community Shield.

Who Has Won FA Cup?
Since its establishment, the FA Cup has been won by 43 different teams. Only eight of these winners were not in the top flight: Notts County (1894); Tottenham Hotspur (1901); Wolverhampton Wanderers (1908); Barnsley (1912); West Bromwich Albion (1931); Sunderland (1973), Southampton (1976) and West Ham United (1980). Whilst any team who is a member of the FA can compete it has only been won by a non-English team once. Cardiff City achieved this in 1927.

Who has won the FA Cup and the Premier League?
Seven clubs have won the FA Cup as part of a League and Cup double, namely Preston North End (1889), Aston Villa (1897), Tottenham Hotspur (1961), Arsenal (1971, 1998, 2002), Liverpool (1986), Manchester United (1994, 1996, 1999) and Chelsea (2010).

Who has won the FA Cup and the English Football League Cup?
Arsenal (1993), Liverpool (in 2001) and Chelsea (in 2007) have won both the FA Cup and the EFL cup in the same season.

Who has Won Champions League and FA Cup?
Chelsea won the FA Cup and the 2012 Champions League.

Who has Won Champions League, Premier League and FA Cup?
In 1998–99, Manchester United added the 1999 Champions League title to their league and cup double to complete a unique Treble.

Who has Won the FA Cup, English Football League Cup and the UEFA Cup?
In 2000–01, Liverpool won the FA Cup, League Cup and UEFA Cup to complete a cup treble.

Has Anyone Won the Competition on Consecutive Occasions?
Four clubs have won consecutive FA Cups on more than one occasion: Wanderers (1872, 1873 and 1876, 1877, 1878), Blackburn Rovers (1884, 1885, 1886 and 1890, 1891), Tottenham Hotspur (1961, 1962 and 1981, 1982) and Arsenal (2002, 2003 and 2014, 2015).

Who Won the Last FA Cup?
Chelsea won the 2018 FA Cup after beating Manchester United 1-0.

Do FA Cup winners qualify for Europe?
The FA Cup winners qualify for the following season’s UEFA Europa League. This European place applies even if the team is relegated or is not in the English top flight.

Watching the FA Cup Live online / on TV

The good news about watching the FA Cup Final live is that it is one of 10 events reserved for live broadcast on UK terrestrial television under the Ofcom Code on Sports and Other Listed and Designated Events.

The FA Cup will be broadcast this year on BBC (showing 16 live matches) and BT Sport (up to 24 live games) in the UK. Showing live matches from the very first round, both channels will be showing a mixture of FA Cup matches (and replays) from every round including the Quarter finals, Semi-finals and the important FA Cup Final from Wembley, all of which will be available on BBC HD and BT Sport HD.

Betting on the FA Cup

Betting on the FA Cup competition and the Final match is extremely popular, and the bookies know this. They have a plethora of markets and great odds available via their online websites and mobile apps. There are a number of bookmakers but if you are syruggleing to decide on one we can’t recommend bet365 enough. They have a wide range of markets as well as offers. They also have an incredible rage of betting features and are often at the cutting edge of new offers, features and technology. They also have a superb offer for new accounts.

New customer offers are available almost all of the time if you wold like to try out a new bookmaker and place bets on this superb competition.

There are always some superb betting offers available as well. Those that are just available for the FA Cup are listed on our dedicated FA Cup betting offers page.

The next FA Cup match to take place in the FA Cup Final.