FA Community Shield

The FA Community Shield is the the traditional season opener played between the previous season’s Premier League champions and the FA Cup winner. It is the first competitive game of the new top-flight English football season. However, it is considered by some to be a minor trophy and may not be as hotly contested as other trophy finals.

The rules of the match are generally the same as those for Premier League, with a team of 11 starting players and 7 substitutes. However, unlike in most other competitions where only three substitutions are permitted, teams in the Community Shield are permitted up to six substitutions. If the scores are level after 90 minutes, the teams play a penalty shootout.

The fixture was first founded in 2008 and is organised by The Football Association. The proceeds of the match go to charity.

What Happens if the Same Team Won the Premier League and the FA Cup?
In this case the Premier League runners-up if the FA Cup winners also won the league – the double.

Where is the Community Shield Played?
The fixture was played at various neutral grounds or the home ground of one of the teams competing. Since 1974 the fixture has been played at Wembley, with the exception of 2001–2006 when it was played at the Millennium Stadium, this is when Wembley was being rebuilt.

Who Has Won the FA Community Shield?
Manchester City won the last fixture, when they defeated Chelsea 2–0 in the 2018 match.

Previous winners can be seen on the FA’s website.

  • The most successful teams in the competition are Manchester United (17 outright wins, 4 shared), Arsenal (14 outright wins, 1 shared), Liverpool (10 outright wins, 5 shared) and Everton (8 outright wins, 1 shared).
  • Chelsea (2010, 2012, 2015, 2017 and 2018) and Newcastle United (1932, 1951, 1952, 1955 and 1996) share the joint-longest run of appearances without winning or sharing the trophy.
  • The highest scoring game was Manchester United’s 8–4 win against Swindon Town in 1911.
  • Everton hold the record for most consecutive wins (4) from 1984 to 1987; however, the 1986 ‘win’ was shared with Liverpool. Manchester United hold the record for most consecutive losses (4) from 1998 to 2001. During this period Manchester United also held the record for most consecutive games played (6) from 1996 to 2001 in which they won 2.
  • Tottenham Hotspur goalkeeper Pat Jennings scored against Manchester United from his own penalty area in the 1967 Charity Shield, which was shared at 3–3.
  • Brighton & Hove Albion are the only club to win just the Shield, never the FA Cup or the League

Do People Bet on the Community Shield?
As the first fixture of the English domestic season for professional teams a huge number of betting fans getting excited and have a punt on the match. The bookies all have odds available for a wide range of markets on both their online sites and their football betting apps. New customer offers are always available as this fixture is at the start of the new season there will be a plethora of new deals available for newbies. Football betting offers available for all customers are generally available for this match.

Where to Watch the Community Shield?
Well you can’t beat the pub if you fancy watching a football match, but if you don;t fancy that location why not have a trip to Wembley to watch it live, the proceeds go to charity. Failing that how about watching it on TV?

Kick off is generally scheduled for 3pm and recent matches have been shown exclusively on BT Sport 1.