Championship Betting

Championship BettingThe Championship, was founded in 2004 and is organised by the English Football League (EFL). It is the highest division in the EFL and is the second flight in England after the premier league (EPL). Sides can be promoted or relegated depending on their performance during the season. The 2019-20 season will be the 16th edition of the League under its current title and the 28th season under its current format.

Norwich won the 2018-19 season and were promoted to the Premier League.

What is the Championship?

It is an annual football league operated by the EFL. As the top division in the English football system it is placed one division below the EPL and above the first division in the English football pyramid. 24 squads compete to be the winner and the chance to be promoted to England’s top flight.

Which Teams will Play in the 2019-2020 Season?

The following sides have changed division since the 2018–19 season:

  • Luton Town, Barnsley and Charlton Athletic were promoted from League One at the end of 2018-19 and
  • Cardiff City, Fulham and Huddersfield Town were relegated from EPL at the end of the 2018-19 season

The 24 Clubs which will compete are:
1 Barnsley
2 Birmingham City
3 Blackburn Rovers
4 Brentford
5 Bristol City
6 Cardiff City
7 Charlton Athletic
8 Derby County
9 Fulham
10 Huddersfield Town
11 Hull City
12 Leeds United
13 Luton Town
14 Middlesbrough
15 Millwall
16 Nottingham Forest
17 Preston North End
18 Queens Park Rangers
19 Reading
20 Sheffield Wednesday
21 Stoke City
22 Swansea City
23 West Bromwich Albion
24 Wigan Athletic

When are the Fixtures Released?

The 24 clubs will be able to map out their seasons on Thursday, June 20 when the fixtures for the 2019-20 season are released at 9am.

When does the Season Start?

The season begins on the weekend of Friday, August 2.

How Many Teams are in the Championship?

There are 24 sides that compete, each team plays each other twice scoring 3 points for a win, 1 for a draw and non for a defeat. The team with the most points at the end of the season are the winner and the prize is automatic promotion to the EPL and the ultimate prize is promotion. The second place team also get promoted.

The cubs in position 3-6 at the end of the season, enter play-offs and battle it out to see who will win the third place in the Championship and win promotion.

Three Championship squads in total get promoted.

The three clubs with the least points get relegated to League one and are replaced by the top two clubs and the play-off winner from the league one

How do the Play Offs Work?

The play offs are a series of matches contested by the clubs finishing from 3rd to 6th in the Championship table. The semi-finals are played over two legs, with 3rd playing 6th and 4th playing 5th, with the return fixtures following. The final is played at Wembley Stadium. The winner gets elevated to the EPL.

Winning is very valuable as the revenue from being in the EPL is about £60 Million.

When are the EFL finals?

The finals will be played across two weekends in May due to Wembley’s commitments to the 2020 European Championships. The final will be on Monday, May 25.

Who has Won the Championship?

The current title holders are Norwich who won the 2018-19 season. Newcastle United, Reading, Sunderland and Wolverhampton Wanderers have won the most titles – all having won 2 titles.

The have all been Champions:

  • Sunderland
  • Reading
  • West Bromwich Albion
  • Wolverhampton Wanderers
  • Newcastle United
  • Queens Park Rangers
  • Reading
  • Cardiff City
  • Leicester City
  • Bournemouth
  • Burnley
  • Norwich City

Random fact: The longest run without a home win: 364 days, Sunderland (Premier League/Championship 17 December 2016 to 16 December 2017).

Championship Live Streaming

It is possible to watch many of the matches live. You can watch them live at a ground or you can watch live on TV via Sky Sports who have the rights to broadcast 65 live matches. Live coverage of both legs of both semi finals and the final are shown live. Highlights are shown on Quest.

Championship Betting: Winner, Top 6, Goal Scorer, Promotion & Relegation Odds

It is possible to bet on Championship Football Outright Winner, Promotion and Relegation betting as well as the Golden Boot prices.

The major bookies all have great odds available for the 2019-20 season available online already. Before placing your bets it’s a good idea to compare the prices available at a couple of sites so that you get the best odds available.

The best way to do this is to install a couple of the best sportsbook apps onto your mobile phone. Have a quick look at the odds for the team(s) you want to back and place your bet with the bookie who has the best app.

If you don’t already have accounts with bookmakers you can install the best betting app and claim free bets from the bookies on football betting apps home page. You can find online a number of sites that will predict who will be promoted and relegated.

The Championship – Outright Winner Odds
Basically you are betting on the team to win The Championship in 2019/20. Each-Way Place Terms at 1/4 odds for 3 places are available.

The Championship 2019/20 Promotion Betting – To Be Promoted
This market allows you to bet on the three teams that will be promoted.

Lees, Fulham and Cardiff are the bookies favourites to move up to the top division at the beginning of the 2020/21 season.

The Championship Relegation Betting Odds
Have a punt on the three Championship teams that will go down. These are the odds to be relegated.

Charlton, Barnsley and Reading are top of the bookies list to go down to League one next season.

The Championship Football – Top Goalscorer Odds
The odds of a player being the Championship Top Scorer (win the Golden Boot). Bookies pay each-way place terms at 1/4 odds for 4 places.

Get the latest news on the EFL Championship website.

More on the Championship