The South American Football Confederation is the continental governing body of football in South America (apart from Guyana, Suriname and French Guiana) and it is one of FIFA’s six continental confederations.

It is the oldest continental confederation in the world, its headquarters are located in Luque, Paraguay, near Asunción. There are 10 member football associations, the fewest members of all the confederations in FIFA. CONMEBOL is the smallest and the only fully continental land-based FIFA confederation (no insular countries or associates from different continents).

It is considered one of the strongest confederations in the world. They have high standards and passionate supporters.

CONMEBOL National Teams

  • Argentina
  • Bolivia
  • Brazil
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Ecuador
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Uruguay
  • Venezuela

CONMEBOL Competitions

CONMBEBOl organise a lot of competitions for their clubs and national teams. It’s not the scope of our site to go into all of these but will mention those of particular interest below.

The Copa America, started in 1916 is the main competition for the Men’s national teams. National competitions are also run for under-20, under-17 and under-15 levels. The same set up exists for the women’s teams.

The 2019 Copa America kicks off on June 14th.

CONMEBOL also runs the two main club competitions in South America: the Copa Libertadores was first held in 1960 and the Copa Sudamericana was launched by CONMEBOL in 2002 as an indirect successor to the Supercopa Libertadores (begun in 1988).

The Recopa Sudamericana, established in 1989 pits the past year’s winners of the Copa Libertadores against the winners of the Copa Sudamericana.

The Intercontinental Cup was jointly organised with UEFA between the Copa Libertadores and the UEFA Champions League winners. CONMEBOL clubs have won 22 Intercontinental Cups.

Success on the World Stage

CONMEBOL national teams have won nine FIFA World Cups (Brazil five, Uruguay two and Argentina two). The World Cup qualifiers of CONMEBOL have been described as the “toughest qualifiers in the world”, for their simple round-robin system, entry of some of the top national teams in the world, levelling of the weaker national teams, climate conditions, geographic conditions, strong home stands and passionate supporters.

The Confederation is planning to create the first women’s qualification to the FIFA Women’s World Cup to replace the Copa América Femenina.

At a club level CONMEBOL clubs have won four FIFA Club World Cups.

When it comes to the Olympics, Argentina and Uruguay have won two Olympic gold medals each, Brazil has won one Olympic gold medal.