CONCACAF Gold CupThe central American and Caribbean Association Football or for short CONCACAF compete for the Gold Cup every 2 years. It’s parallel in Europe is the Euro’s

Next Gold Cup: 2019 CONCACAF Gold Cup; 15th June – 7th July; hosted by USA, Costa Rica & Jamaica.

Since the inaugural match in 1991, the North American nations compete for the CONCACAF Gold Cup every two years.

The First match was held in America who had a large array of stadiums (American Football and baseball) which could be used for the tournament as well as the World Cup which took place in the USA in 1990. America had qualified for the 1990 world cup for the first time in 40 years and then they went onto take their first ever retinal title by beating Honduras in a penalty shoot out.

The First match was a huge success with over 40,000 attending the final held at the Memorial Coliseum in Los Angeles in July 1991.

Since the first match the Gold Cup has taken place every 2 years and America have hosted or co-hosted it.

The 2019 edition will be the 15th edition of the competition. The number of teams competing at the group stage will increase from 12 to 16. The qualification system has been changed and no longer divided into Central American and Caribbean zones. 

It has been won seven times by Mexico, six times by the United States, and once by Canada. Mexico and the US have become difficult to beat. Runners-up include Brazil, Colombia, Costa Rica, Honduras, Panama, and Jamaica.

Betting on the CONCACAF Gold Cup
Every bookmaker has markets and odds available for outright winner, top goal scorer as well as a plethora of markets for the individual matches. In-play betting is also available. All the bookmakers have markets available and as the competition takes place when the UK domestic season is not in play it becomes the perfect competition to have a bet on. If you can choose a bookmaker for this market we would highly recommend bet365 as they have some super markets and odds as well as plenty if betting offers you can make use of.

Live streaming on the matches is possible via a few bookmakers streaming services. Find the best live streaming bookies for the matches here.

There is always a plethora of offers available for the matches and new customer free bets can always be sourced.

Prior to the CONCACAF Gold Cup, the CONCACAF championship was held every four years between 1963 and 1989. The very first match was held in El Salvador featuring nine teams with games played in two cities. A final pool of round robin games determined the winner, with Costa Rica finishing ahead of the hosts who finished second. Between 1963 and 1973 the championship took place every 2 years. After ’73 the tournament took pla e every four years, when it doubled as the qualification tournament for the World Cup.

6 different nations won at least one championship title. Costa Rica and Mexici won three times and Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras and Canada won it once a piece. America never won the championship.

In the 1980s CONCACAF decided that there would be more prestige in holding the tournament every two years and in 1991 the biannual Gold Cup was born