Argentina and Colombia named co-hosts of expanded Copa America 2020

The 2020 Copa América will be the 47th edition of the Copa América, the tournament will take place from 12 June to 12 July 2020. Argentina and Colombia have been confirmed as co-hosts of Copa America 2020 in March 2019. The two South American countries will jointly host the 2020 tournament.

CONMEBOL, earlier this year rejected a proposal from the United States.

The South American governing body have expanded the tournament, it will now comprise 38 matches, 12 more than the current format, will initially be split into two groups of six teams.

The groups will be a

  • South Zone – Argentina, Chile, Uruguay, Paraguay, Bolivia and a guest nation
  • North Z

  • one, made up of Colombia, Brazil, Venezuela, Ecuador, Peru and one further invited country.

Four teams from each group will qualify for the quarter-final stage.

The change in format has been made to provide more facilities to fans and to bring the matches of the national teams geographically to the South American public. Fans will be able to enjoy at least five of his national team matches.

The Copa America will also be held in 2019, with Brazil hosting the event this summer four years after the 2015 tournament in Chile.

Chile won both the 2015 and 2016 Copa America, prevailing over Argentina on penalties in the final on both occasions. Will Chile be winners for the 2019 and or the 2020 edition?

The 2019 Copa America is due to kick off in June.